Friday, September 4, 2015

Blog tour: Blurred Lines by Lauren Layne


BLURRED LINES
Lauren Layne
Releasing Aug 25th, 2015
Loveswept



In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.








Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance.

Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. In 2011, she and her husband moved from Seattle to New York City, where Lauren decided to pursue a full-time writing career. It took six months to get her first book deal (despite ardent assurances to her husband that it would only take three). Since then, Lauren's gone on to publish ten books, including the bestselling Stiletto series, with several more on the way in 2015.

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and spoiled Pomeranian. When not writing, you'll find her at happy hour, running at a doggedly slow pace, or trying to straighten her naturally curly hair.





WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS |







Friends to lovers is a trope I love. When I saw that an author I like wrote one, I immediately signed up for the tour. Unfortunately, I’m sorry to say this isn’t my favorite among Lauren Layne’s books, and wasn’t what I was expecting. I know I’ll sound like a prude, but I didn’t like the “friends with benefits” kind of story or the idea Parker (the heroine) came up with. It just didn’t feel real—nor right. 

Since she’d been dumped by her boyfriend of 5 years, she decided to get back in the game using her best friend (with whom she claims she’s been having a totally planotic relationship for six years) for no-strings-attached sex just because he’s a womanizer and he won’t expect a relationship? Not nice, Parker. Not nice at all.

I’m sure some other readers will find this book amazing because, at the end of the day, the author’s style is just as good as ever, the dialogues are real and the banter is funny, but this “using each other just for sex” didn’t feel right, considering they claimed to be best friends and to always want to put the other first.

Maybe it’s just me, but how could she really expect that she could have sex with her best friend and go back to being just platonic friends afterward? It just didn’t feel real—then again, maybe it’s only the way I see things and other people could totally doing without feeling awkward.

I loved the more romantic parts, the ones when they connected on an emotional level and truly showed the essence of their friendship and feelings. I enjoyed the banter and the familiarity they shared, and I was rooting for their happy-ever-after all through the book. I just didn’t share Parker’s view on the whole situation—especially when she makes a certain decision after sleeping exclusively with Ben for weeks (sorry, can’t say more). At that moment, I didn’t like her much, to be honest. I thought she was being a little mean, basically using and disposing of Ben as if he didn’t have feelings. Yes, he was a womanizer, but he was also her best friend after all; she could have been a little more considerate and caring when the time came to choose which way to go.

Anyway, in spite of my personal opinion on some things, if you like friends to lovers with a sexy twist and descriptive scenes, you will definitely enjoy this book.













1 commenti: